Webelos Scouts

Webelos Scout Patch Emblem

The Webelos Scout program, for boys who are in the fourth or fifth grade, is filled with activities and outdoor fun. Everything in the Webelos Scout program is more challenging than the things the younger boys in the pack do. Webelos Scouts are still in Cub Scouting. They take part in Cub Scout pack meetings, events, and outings. But the Webelos den also makes its own plans and enjoys many activities that the younger Cub Scouts don’t get to do.

Instead of working on achievements and electives as other boys in Cub Scouting do, Webelos Scouts work on activity badges and the Arrow of Light Award, which is a bridge to Boy Scouting. TheWebelos Handbook has sections that cover the 20 activity badges, divided into five groups:

  1. Physical Skills
  2. Mental Skills
  3. Community
  4. Technology
  5. Outdoor


The Webelos Handbook also tells about rank advancement and special awards that Webelos Scouts can earn.