SJV Cub Scouts Pack 71

Boys in first through fifth grade—or 6 to 10 years old—are encouraged to join Cub Scout Pack 71 at Saint John Vianney School. Cub Scouting is a family activity as well as an opportunity for personal achievement for your son. Cub Scouts is the first and the biggest of the three Scouting programs (Cub Scouting, Boy Scouting and Venturing) from the Boy Scouts of America. Many grades boast 100% participation of all boys as Cub Scouts is fun, social, and provides life-skill learning opportunities. Every Cub Scout at Saint John Vianney School is a member of Cub Scout Pack 71. Pack 71, along with many other Packs in SE Wisconsin, is a member of the Potowatomi Area Council. The council office is located at N12W24498 Bluemound Road, Waukesha, WI. Pack 71 is divided into smaller groups, called Dens. Each grade (first through fifth) has a separate den.

  • Bobcat and Tiger Scouts

    Bobcat ScoutsNo matter what age or grade a boy joins Cub Scouting, he must earn his Bobcat badge before he can advance to the rank of Tiger Cub, Wolf, Bear or Webelos. A boy must complete the Bobcat requirements, which include:

    • Learn and say the Cub Scout motto, the Cub Scout Promise, and the Law of the Pack and Tell what they mean
    • Show the Cub Scout sign, salute and handshake and Tell what they mean
    • Show that they understand and believe that it is important to be honest and trustworthy

    Tiger Scouts First Grade boys, as their first step into scouting, are members of the Tiger Scout Den. To begin his path to the Tiger Cub rank, the Tiger Cub (age 7) must learn the Cub Scout promise, the Cub Scout sign, and the Cub Scout salute. When he has learned these, he gets his Tiger Cub emblem, which is a tiger paw with four strings for beads. He wears the emblem on his right pocket. As a boy finishes each part of the five Tiger Cub achievements, he earns an orange bead (for den activities), a white bead (for family activities), or a black bead (for “Go See Its”). When the boy has earned five beads of each color, he can receive his Tiger Cub badge. The Tiger Cub badge is given to the boy’s adult partner at a pack meeting. Then, during a grand ceremony, the adult gives the badge to the boy.

    Learn More

  • Wolf Scouts

    The Wolf rank is for boys who have finished first grade (or who are 8 years old). To earn the Wolf badge, a boy must pass 12 achievements. His parent or guardian approves each achievement by signing his book. When the boy has met all requirements, the Wolf badge is presented to his parent or guardian at the next pack meeting. During an impressive ceremony, the parent or guardian then presents the badge to the boy. After he has earned the Wolf badge, a Wolf Cub Scout can work on the 23 Wolf electives until he finishes second grade (or turns 9 years old). He can choose from more than 100 elective projects that may show him new hobbies and teach him skills that will be useful during his Boy Scout years. When he completes 10 elective projects, he earns a Gold Arrow Point to wear under the Wolf badge. For each 10 elective projects after that, he earns a Silver Arrow Point.

    Learn More

  • Bear Scouts

    The Bear rank is for boys who have finished second grade (or are 9 years old). There are 24 Bear achievements in four groups. A boy must complete 12 of the achievements to be a Bear Cub Scout. These requirements are harder and more challenging than those for the Wolf badge. When a boy has earned his Bear badge, he may work on electives to earn Arrow Points to wear under his Bear badge.

    Learn More

  • Webelos I and II Scouts

    Webelos dens are for boys who have completed third grade (or reached age 10).There are two different webelo dens; one for grade 4 and one for grade 5. The Webelos den program is different from the Cub Scout den program. Everything in the Webelos Scout program is more challenging than what younger boys in the pack do.

    Learn More
    Webelos Scouts get to work on the 20 Webelos activity badges:

    Physical Skills

    • Aquanaut
    • Athlete
    • Fitness
    • Sportsman
    Mental Skills

    • Artist
    • Scholar
    • Showman
    • Traveler

    • Engineer
    • Handyman
    • Scientist

    • Citizen
    • Communicator
    • Family Member
    • Readyman
    • Technology

    Outdoor Activity

    • Forester
    • Geologist
    • Naturalist
    • Outdoorsman