Archdiocese School Curriculum

Grade Specific Catholic Education Curriculum

The Archdiocese of Milwaukee has developed Grade Specific Catholic Education Curriculum to identify key religious education concepts for each grade level (1–8). These concepts are articulated in competence-based language.

Curriculum Summary

Each of these one-page summaries is divided into four sections, based on the main parts of the Catechism of the Catholic Church.

  • Historical / Creedal / Church: Doctrines, dogmas and creeds.
  • Moral Life: Moral values contained in the Ten Commandments and Beatitudes.
  • Liturgy / Sacrament / Prayer: Sacraments, liturgical season, Mary and the saints.
  • Scripture / Life Experience: Passages appropriate for learning and applying to key areas in a child’s life.

To view the Curriculum summary, please visit:
► Milwaukee Archdiocese Curriculum webpage.

Curriculum Guides by Grade Level

Curriculum guides for parents were developed so schools and parents could identify what we want our students to know and be able to do at the end of each grade based on national state and local standards.

For more information, please visit:
► Milwaukee Archdiocese Curriculum webpage.

Discovery Project

Discovery Project courses combine online instruction and face-to-face workshops for Archdiocesan students in grades 7 and 8 who are academically gifted. Students will be exposed to a range of challenging activities to develop critical thinking and 21st century literacies.

For more information including how students qualify, please visit:
► Milwaukee Archdiocese Discovery Project webpage.